Spring Schedule of Author Appearances


As spring kicks into high gear, I will be speaking and appearing at a few upcoming events around town.

First up, on May 24th at 7PM, I will be giving my presentation “‘Godzilla, Monster Movies, and Toho Studios” at the Monroeville Library at 4000 Gateway Campus Blvd, Monroeville, PA 15146.  I had great turnout at Tekko for this presentation, and this will give people around town another opportunity to check out the series.

Then I will be making an author appearance and selling my novels at the special horror expo that has been put together by some of the local promoters, the Living Dead Weekend, which will be held at Monroeville Mall from June 9th through the 11th.  It’s going to be quite an exciting lineup, and I’ll be featuring my award-winning horror novel, The Haunting at Ice Pine Peak, which has some zombie and mummy action in addition to the ghosts it features.  It should be a fun time.  You can find details here:

http://www.thelivingdeadweekend.com/living-dead-weekend-monroeville/

I might have one more event in late May, but I haven’t been given the green light on that yet.

In the meantime, I also was fortunate enough to cover the appearances of a few Asian-American authors at a local university.  I was the total fangirl and even had a few minutes to talk with them and get signed copies of their books!  The first write up of author Julie Otsuka is up at my affiliate blog:

https://sunrisesintheeast.wordpress.com/2017/04/15/author-julie-otsuka-reads-internment-camp-letters-at-duquesne-universitys-big-read/

This was a huge month-long or more string of events community wide that was wrapped up by this author presentation, and it was all focused on her literary novel, When the Emperor Was Divine.  I did a whole run-down of the complete series of events as well as posted some primary sources for readers interested in learning more about the Japanese internment camps of World War II, including some manga-style artwork done by one young Japanese woman in the camps.

I hope to have the write up of the other author appearance later this month once I’ve read the book, but it’s all good stuff.

As for other projects, I’m wrapping up my first draft of my Korean language textbook, so my Korean 1 and Korean 2 classes of my Enlightened Rabbit Scholastic Society project will be available for online students.  I’m going to be flexible about class start dates for the first year or two, so feel free to let me know you are interested regardless of when.  If you want to keep up specifically on that program, be aware that I have a blog on the site behind the landing page where I keep all of my course offerings and the pdf brochure for download.  I’ll be starting to blog Korean-related stuff on this more frequently, so if you want to, bookmark it or subscribe to it:

https://enlightenedrabbit.wordpress.com/blog/

Looking ahead to what I have programmed for this blog, I’ll be adding some manga to the current series on the Korean historical novel I’ve been reading, then we’ll look at a Chinese children’s book and some special Japanese manga to catch up to my usual schedule.  I’ve got lots of great stuff planned for this year and next year, so be sure to check out all of my channels.

About Lady Xiansa

Lady Xiansa is a writer, linguist, artist, and dancer. She has been a core volunteer for the Silk Screen Asian Arts Organization since 2007 and has provided content for Pitt JCS anime events since 2011. She has taught both ESL and Beginning Korean. Her novel, The Haunting at Ice Pine Peak, won the Bronze Award for Young Adult Fiction E-book in the 2016 Moonbeam Children's Book Awards.
This entry was posted in Japan, Palace Interludes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

