A Video Book Reading of The Haunting at Ice Pine Peak


Since I was all dressed up for the holiday, I decided to record a few videos of me reading my award winning novel, The Haunting at Ice Pine Peak.  These are the first videos I’ve ever made, so my apologies on any technical problems that come up in them.  I think I recorded the audio at too high of a volume, so it needs to be turned up to hear it, or you may get better results listening to them with headphones.

I don’t have any plans to do a lot of videos, but I now have a channel since I’m going to be launching my new online certification program for 2017, which I will be announcing the details for in another week or two here at the blog with the roll out of my first full-length class, Korean History.  The three videos of me reading the book below debut the traditional set I created for the live teaching environment I will be working in for that new project; the headset is standard for video conferencing and is used in live lessons, which is why I have it here.  I only have equipment for teaching rather than for creating videos.

A few words are in order about the background of the story so the particular scenes I selected to read for you make more sense. I had the setting of the mountain temple for about four or five years before I actually started writing this story at the beginning of 2015. I knew I wanted to write a story about it and had a few of the main characters figured out, like my rebellious princess and her lady in waiting, but I just didn’t know what kind of story I wanted to write.  I changed genre a couple of times after I set up this blog based on the location, then I finally decided I wanted to do a classical ghost story.  I have wanted to write that kind of story ever since I was about 13 when I saw an advertisement for a contest asking for ghost stories in a mall book store.

By the time I was getting ready to write it in January of 2015, I needed to figure out who had lived in the old temple.  At the time, ISIS was in the headlines a lot with the plight of the Yazidis and the destruction of indigenous Christian churches in the region.  I also came across news that they caught the female assassin working for Charles Taylor who murdered some Catholic nuns in Liberia decades ago.  So I drew from recent and world history of minority or small religious communities’ experiences as the basis for the ghost story, then used architectural inspiration from my own travels in East Asia where I walked the Shinto, Buddhist and Christian pilgrimage routes that I could work with in creating my own fictional world.

I probably should at some point do a video pronouncing my character names given how the fans I meet at in person events are having a lot of trouble with those since most of them are drawn from Korean, Chinese and Japanese, but for now, this will have to do.

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Thanks for watching!

 

 

About Lady Xiansa

Lady Xiansa is a writer, linguist, artist, and dancer. She has been a core volunteer for the Silk Screen Asian Arts Organization since 2007 and has provided content for Pitt JCS anime events since 2011. She has taught both ESL and Beginning Korean. Her novel, The Haunting at Ice Pine Peak, won the Bronze Award for Young Adult Fiction E-book in the 2016 Moonbeam Children's Book Awards.
This entry was posted in Introduction, Palace Interludes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

