Lady Xiansa’s Newbie Guide to Traditional East Asian Literature


I had time to throw together a PDF for readers to print off and work on after all, but keep in mind that I’m thinking about using my Literati Corner for the next few years to tackle some of the works on this list. Be on the lookout for my New Year 2016 post where I will explain what I want to do and how you can participate if you want to take reading my blog to the next level.

Since I plan my blog at least tentatively for two to three years in advance, this should work out okay. The 2015 blog theme was foxes, and next year I will link my theme with my Literati Corner selections.

I’ll post this PDF guide permanently and will post annual Literati Corner guides on the tab on my menu at the top of my blog called “Literati Corner Guides”. In the meantime, here is my guide for readers new to East Asian literature who want to get some familiarity with the most important works for Westerners to read:

Lady Xiansa’s Newbie Guide to Traditional East Asian Literature

I omitted some of the classical books like the I Ching that I thought would be too dry and stuck with works that had a more narrative or philosophical style. Not all of these books are fiction, and the list for China has many books that were very important in Japan and Korea as well.

I am right on schedule at last with this blog to finish out 2015, and we can start the new year fresh.

About Lady Xiansa

Lady Xiansa is a writer, linguist, artist, and dancer. She has been a core volunteer for the Silk Screen Asian Arts Organization since 2007 and has provided content for Pitt JCS anime events since 2011. She has taught both ESL and Beginning Korean. Her novel, The Haunting at Ice Pine Peak, won the Bronze Award for Young Adult Fiction E-book in the 2016 Moonbeam Children's Book Awards.
This entry was posted in Introduction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

