Free E-Book Giveaway of The Haunting at Ice Pine Peak and Other News


I will be offering my new horror novel, The Haunting at Ice Pine Peak, for free on e-book this week between November 11th and November 15th, 2015, and it is available here:

http://www.amazon.com/Haunting-Ice-Pine-Peak-ebook/dp/B014N57JRY/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

If you take advantage of the free giveaway, please leave a review on Amazon or Goodreads since that’s how we indie authors get our publicity and can compete with the big guys in the industry. Hopefully, you’ll find the book fun. Let me remind potential readers that it is fine for ages 13 and up, nothing too graphic. I was strongly influenced by the largely 19th century literature that the 1930s golden age of horror films in the US were based on, so it should feel more old-fashioned. Of course, it also has strong East Asian influence, particularly Ming Dynasty slice of life novels, as well as some Arab and Indian influences, just like the range of countries the Asian arts festival I work on covers, and my characters are likewise multiracial as an off-handed fact rather than a central plot point.

Recently I was asked about where I got the idea for The Haunting at Ice Pine Peak. The biggest question was what to do with the temple back story. It had to be good to create a memorable villain and sympathetic victims. I thought a temple full of men was too typical for the regional literature that inspired it, and I wanted to get away from clichés. A temple full of women sounded more subversive, and I had recently read the Daily Beast article last year talking about the capture of a female assassin of warlord Charles Taylor in Liberia who murdered five Catholic nuns in the 90s who were in the country providing medical relief:

http://www.thedailybeast.com/articles/2014/09/22/caught-female-assassin-who-allegedly-murdered-six-american-nuns.html

Years ago when I took a year of Arabic in college, one of my classmates was a nurse who did relief work in the Sudan and spent every summer in Khartoum, so I thought of her when I read this article. Of course, the tribulations of various vulnerable religious communities in the Middle East that started in 2014 also was something I had in mind, though I know from my reading long ago of European history that women’s religious communities were always vulnerable in unstable times.

I’ll be offering my other e-books free sometime in December most likely and will announce when that is ready.

Also, I’ll be speaking on December 5, 2015, at 8PM at the Sangawa anime festival on “Voices of the Dead: Ghosts in Japan”:

http://www.sangawaproject.com/

I’ll be looking at some of the compilations by Lafcadio Hearn and popular horror anime series like “Mononoke” and “Yamishibai.”

Finally, last month one of my readers requested a guide for newbies to the topic of East Asian literature, and I should have time next month to prepare a short PDF list for you all to print off for the basics that can be found in English.

About Lady Xiansa

Lady Xiansa is a writer, linguist, artist, and dancer. She has been a core volunteer for the Silk Screen Asian Arts Organization since 2007 and has provided content for Pitt JCS anime events since 2011. She has taught both ESL and Beginning Korean. Her novel, The Haunting at Ice Pine Peak, won the Bronze Award for Young Adult Fiction E-book in the 2016 Moonbeam Children's Book Awards.
This entry was posted in Introduction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

