Getting in the Mood for Halloween: My Upcoming Presentation and Book Reading


I have an event in less than two weeks on October 21st at 7PM where I will be giving an overview of many of the traditional fox and ghost stories from East Asia as well as covering a few modern ones. I’ll finish the presentation with a reading of a few excerpts from my novels, The Vulpecula Cycle and The Haunting at Ice Pine Peak. The event will be held at the Monroeville Public Library, 4000 Gateway Campus Blvd., Monroeville, PA 15146.

Here is the official description of my presentation:

Fox Spirits and Ghosts in East Asian Culture
East Asia, particularly Japan, is famous around the world for its horror stories. Traditional lore is full of stories of ghostly encounters and clever animal spirits such as the fox that can pretend to be human and trick the unwary. Local author Wendelin Gray will be looking at many traditional Ming and Qing Dynasty stories, Noh and Kabuki dramas as well as a few modern tales in this presentation and will read a few scenes from her own original novels drawing on these traditions.

Also, I am giving away free signed print copies of my new horror novel, The Haunting at Ice Pine Peak, over at Goodreads, but I plan on holding a separate giveaway on my blogs next month that will be especially for my blog readers with better odds for my readers to get a copy. Details will be forthcoming along with probably some e-book giveaways for the holidays for a limited time once I have a chance to get that set up.

I will be posting my last in our current series in the next day or two. Choosing an 800 page book in Korean was pretty ambitious, so it is taking me longer than expected, but the ending looks like it will be worth it.

About Lady Xiansa

Lady Xiansa is a writer, linguist, artist, and dancer. She has been a core volunteer for the Silk Screen Asian Arts Organization since 2007 and has provided content for Pitt JCS anime events since 2011. She has taught both ESL and Beginning Korean. Her novel, The Haunting at Ice Pine Peak, won the Bronze Award for Young Adult Fiction E-book in the 2016 Moonbeam Children's Book Awards.
This entry was posted in Introduction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

