The 10th Annual Silk Screen Asian American Film Festival and Other Upcoming Events


Here is the rundown of upcoming events that I’m involved with that you may be interested in.

First up is the 10th Annual Silk Screen Asian American Film Festival, which will run from July 9th through July 19th. Details can be found here on the various parties and screenings:

http://www.silkscreenfestival.org/

I can personally recommend a few of the films that I myself saw, such as “Dukhtar” and “Red Amnesia.” “The Nightingale” is one of my favorites that I screened, and I can’t recommend that one highly enough. I know that it got a lot a lot of exposure in the past year since we first were talking about getting it for the festival. “Melbourne” is a really unexpectedly odd drama that has nothing to do with the title. Two of this year’s documentaries are really outstanding too, “Live from UB” which covers the music scene in Mongolia, and “Upaj: Improvise” which highlights a few African-American hip hop artists who go to India to study with a master of classical Indian dance.

I will also be selling my books at Anthrocon opening weekend, and details for that event are here:

http://www.anthrocon.org/

My old book, The Weary City, has a dog theme using the old Celtic Hounds of Hell folklore at its core, and of course, The Vulpecula Cycle, is about two East Asian fox spirits stowing away on an international lunar mission, so I’m working my Canidae theme that weekend for the Furries.

My new novel (and probably the last one I’m writing for awhile), The Haunting at Ice Pine Peak, is set to come out in the print edition next month with the e-book to follow sometime after that.

Then in August I’ll be selling books at Steel City Con, which will be featuring stars from the old “Batman” TV show, stars from “Karate Kid” and many others:

http://www.steelcitycon.com/

I’ll have more details on the new book release later. For my stateside readers, happy 4th!

About Lady Xiansa

Lady Xiansa is a writer, linguist, artist, and dancer. She has been a core volunteer for the Silk Screen Asian Arts Organization since 2007 and has provided content for Pitt JCS anime events since 2011. She has taught both ESL and Beginning Korean. Her novel, The Haunting at Ice Pine Peak, won the Bronze Award for Young Adult Fiction E-book in the 2016 Moonbeam Children's Book Awards.
Aside | This entry was posted in Introduction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

